PC crash during flight - what to do?

Users Local time
Today 10:28 AM
Hi all,

My FSX crashed during an online flight this afternoon.
I closed everything.
What's the procedure after a FSX crash during flight?
Thanks in advance.

For now, there's not much you can do, Jacob. These things happened to most of us - mostly 3 seconds from touchdown ;)
The best thing you can do is try and find the cause for the crash (scenery, memory ...) so it will not happen again. Then do the flight again.
Flight Keeper also has an option for autosaving flight status, so that you can restart from where the crash happened. But I honestly never used that and don't know how to do. Maybe someone else could tell more.

Hello Jacob, and welcome to Air Child. Im new at the online simming myself and have had the same problem with fsx locking up during a flt. If your wanting to know if you have to report the ctd to vatsim, i dont think you do. It happens a lot. If you want to troubleshoot as to why it crashed look in this forum under online flying,there are some good suggestions as to how to fix. Also vatsim forum has a lot of info.There are a lot of fellow ACH pilots in here that are more knowledgable than I am about this. Sure they will answer this post shortly. I was using Squawkbox and had issues with it locking up fsx. one answer was to run squawkbox externally from fsx instead of in the fsx menu. That didnt work for me. I wound up loading Fsinn and it worked fine. I have a 32 bit system, 4 gigs ram, windows vista. Had to use large address aware to fix some out of memory issues.Also your weather program may be the culprit. If you could give your computer specs and the error message it would help the other guys that are going to answer your post. If your not new to the online simming,and I am way off base with this post... perhaps you could send some mouth wash. It will help get rid of the taste of the foot I keep putting in my mouth :lol:

Peter and David, thanks for your reply.