Routes from JFK

Users Local time
Today 5:34 PM
Hi,

after departing from JFK a few times, I feel the need to point out, that the routes given by Air-Child for flights departing JFK almost never begin from where they should, and since I'm not very experienced in planning flights, this causes some trouble for the ATCs there. Usually they start from the JFK VOR/DME when they should start from one of the exit points on the Departure Procedure.

I don't know if there's anything reasonably simple to be done, but just wanted to point out =)

Br.
Aleksi

Alexsi, check out NY fir http://www.nyartcc.org/prc/jfk it has all the info that you need to make the flights out of and into JFK easier. Just incorporate the info from their website into your airchild flt plan. I use ACH plans with no problem out of New York. Just use the proper SID and STAR from the above site. The also have a link that always shows the active departure and arrival runways! Hope you find this info useful. Cheers

Hi David.

That's the site I use for info on flying in NY. I also know the rwy selector. My problem is that when I take an ACH flight plan and change the JFK VOR/DME to some exit in the direction of my flight (e.g. DIXIE when flying to Miami), I usually don't know how to continue my plan. My usual tactic is to take the exit intersection and then file DCT from that to some point along the airway given to me in the ACH plan. Not very by-the-book and doesn't always work.

Tonight when starting a flight to San Francisco, I messed around with my FP for a while and then asked TWR for clearance. The reply was "I'm gonna have to send you your route amendments in the chat box since there are so many, or you can just wait a while until I logoff and go with your plan." I made it his call and since he rather logged off than corrected my flight plan, it's still a mystery to me what things were wrong there :p

I hope you understood my problem :)

Aleksi